Pearl Barley and Charlie Parsley

Pearl Barley and Charlie Parsley

A little note to say the poem below is about Sam and I and our opposite and complimentary personality traits . I am reminded of the delightful children’s story “Pearl Barley and Charlie Parsley” by Aaron Blabey and therefore called this post “Pearl Barley and Charlie Parsley.” The poem is not an extract from the book but I recommend the book to both adults and children. You will see someone you know in its pages.

Thanks I needed to clarify that! Clare

I am fiery, loud, always talking
She is calm, quiet, happy in silence
I’m expressive
She is contemplative
I love the limelight, the drama, the debate
She likes to stay in the background, make no fuss, to accept things
I am red
She is blue
I try to be quiet
I try to balance who I am to be who she needs me to be

She is strong, unbreakable
A porcelain cup
Delicate
Beautiful
Fine bone china
Gilded edge

I am ceramic, crackle glazed
Faults exposed
Fun
Undignified
Colourful
Good for daily use

I am Pearl Barley
She is Charlie Parsley
We are the perfect team
Side by side we have what we need

Blabey, Aaron. Pearl Barley and Charlie Parsley. The Penguin Group. Victoria. 2007

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Pearl Barley and Charlie Parsley

  1. Julie French

    Beautiful Clare xx

    • Clare Froggatt

      Lovely Julie, So thrilled you have your boy home and his beautiful bride. Thanks for sharing our journey. Clare

Leave a Reply

