Dry Bones

Ezekiel 37:1

The hand of the LORD was upon me, and he brought me out by the Spirit of the Lord and set me in the middle of a valley; it was full of bones. He led me back and forth among them, and I saw a great many bones on the floor of the valley, bones that were very dry. He asked me, “Son of man, can these bones live?” I said, “O Sovereign Lord, you alone know.”

Every day we are bombarded with information regarding the activity within Sam’s bone marrow and the doctors are grappling with the evidence to help us decide the best way to treat the condition to prolong my daughter’s life. They are kind to us, wanting to lead us to the best decision but, “It’s a Catch 22,” they say, “and there is no 100% right answer or cure that will guarantee her a long life.” I hear the words but am not completely able to absorb them.

Here, standing in the middle of this valley of decisions for the future of my daughter, my response to the question is just like Ezekiel’s response, “O Sovereign Lord, you alone know.”

I know that my Redeemer lives. He is the answer to this. Right from the beginning Reid, Sam and I decided that we would do all that we could do medically to see her healed. As the months roll by, as the side effects of treatment look us mockingly in the face, it takes everything within us to stand firm. Sheer exhaustion zaps the courage from me but I can not back down or allow fear to overtake me.

Psalm 27:8 You have said, “Seek My face [inquire for and require My presence as your vital need]”. My heart says to You, “Your face (Your presence), Lord, will I seek, inquire for, and require [of necessity and on the authority of Your Word].”

For the first time in my life, God’s word really is of vital necessity to me. We have been through many battles: broken bones, lost houses, closed businesses, financial burden, retrenchment and cancer but nothing that has touched us quite like this. Some days I am thankful for the steel I have in my back, put there from the pressures of past pain but there are also days when I, for a moment, think it is so unfair.

I get disappointed, discouraged and my strength fails me. Yet even then, God sends a word in season to encourage me. He reminds me that because I have set the Lord always before me, because he is at my right hand, I ‘need’ not be shaken. (Psalm 16:8) His words and their authority have become my vital necessity. Without them, fear drags me into the darkest of pits. I am reminded constantly of the manna in the wilderness, just enough for each day. But just like the Israelites, I want more. I want to escape this journey. I want the days to go faster, the recovery to be quicker, the results to be miraculous. To me, miraculous is fast. I want to enter the Promised Land today and be done with all this. And again He reminds me, “His ways are higher than my ways,” that even though I am immensely frustrated, my life, Sam’s life, our lives are in His hands. Sam stays inside due to risk of infection; she is unable to escape her isolation. It affects us all. Our house, once loud and full of activity has become a quiet refuge instead. We wish it were not so.

Deuteronomy 8:3  And He humbled you and allowed you to hunger and fed you with manna, which you did not know nor did your fathers know, that He might make you recognize and personally know that man does not live by bread only, but man lives by every word that proceeds out of the mouth of the Lord.

God allows us to go through things. He allows us to be hungry and humbled. He has a plan for us to engage with His character, to see His mighty acts and experience His mighty deeds. Our flesh hates to be challenged in this way. We long for comfort, security and blessing. We like to snack on His word at our leisure to take the pieces that please us and leave the things that don’t. He provides for us miraculously, giving us exactly what we need for that day but we want to see into the future, we want to know that everything will be okay.

Trusting God is uncomfortable. We like to plan and establish paths for ourselves. Yet to fully surrender requires that the bread of His word today be sufficient. When we lay our lives before Him, we will be like the Israelites in the wilderness whose “clothing did not become old upon you nor did their feet swell those forty years.” Deuteronomy 8:4

The enemy is obvious but so strategic. He moves us to fear, relying on the physical tiredness of our bodies, seeking to catch us out. Why do the headaches always come close to 10 pm, why is Emergency always full in the middle of the night, why do anaphylactic reactions appear on the last day of chemo? Why? Because we are tired and our defenses are down. There is a valley of dry bones. There are a multitude of people in the valley of decision, just like me. Some seek after healing, some for relationships to be restored, some for financial solutions but more than that; there are people who wonder who God is and whether eternity is real.

Ezekiel 37:2  Then he said to me, “Prophesy to these bones and say to them, ‘Dry bones, hear the word of the Lord! This is what the Sovereign Lord says to these bones: I will make breath enter you, and you will come to life. I will attach tendons to you and make flesh come upon you and cover you with skin; I will put breath in you, and you will come to life. Then you will know that I am the Lord.’

Part of me relying on God for Sam’s healing is my partnering with Him. The word He sends me isn’t just to fuel and to feed me, it is also a powerful weapon against the enemy. I look and am overwhelmed, often tired, often discouraged but I rise up. I speak using the words He has given me since I have nothing left of myself to give. As I speak I see the symptoms subside. I step, one foot at a time, moment by moment I live. She will be healed. God will give wisdom to the doctors; he will provide miracles in her body. An army will gather, united as one.

I hold onto His rich and precious promises. As it was for the Israelites, so it will be for us.

Deuteronomy 8: 7-10 For the Lord your God is bringing you into a good land, a land of brooks of water, of fountains and springs, flowing forth in valleys and hills;

A land of wheat and barley, and vines and fig trees and pomegranates, a land of olive trees and honey;

A land in which you shall eat food without shortage and lack nothing in it; a land whose stones are iron and out of whose hills you can dig copper.

When you have eaten and are full, then you shall bless the Lord your God for all the good land which He has given you.

To stay up to date with Daily Prayer needs for Sam please visit http://samfroggatt.blogspot.com or click Prayers for Sam in Blog roll.

3 Comments

Filed under Life

3 responses to “Dry Bones

  1. Bronte Waller

    What a journey this is…you are made of such strong God made stuff! Interesting the lands they were heading for through the wilderness was a place where copper is in the hills.
    Looked up copper and it’s a pretty amazing metal- it shares many of the characteristics of gold, it has high thermal and electical conductivity, it’s very malleable, it is germicidal, when complexed with a chelate it can be used to treat cancer through radiation therapy – Ok I could go on and on- amazing metal…In animals, including humans, it is found widely in tissues, with concentration in liver, muscle, and bone…God will provide you guys with ALL you need…and more. XXXX

  2. monica olander

    This is my psalm, my life, but it’s been given to me so I can share. Do not be discouraged or dismayed. God loves us with such a passion and will lift us up…

    I love you, O LORD, my strength.

    The LORD is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer; my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge.
    He is my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.
    I call to the LORD, who is worthy of praise, and I am saved from my enemies.

    The cords of death entangled me; the torrents of destruction overwhelmed me.
    The cords of the grave coiled around me; the snares of death confronted me.
    In my distress I called to the LORD; I cried to my God for help.
    From his temple he heard my voice; my cry came before him, into his ears.

    The earth trembled and quaked, and the foundations of the mountains shook;
    they trembled because he was angry.
    Smoke rose from his nostrils;
    consuming fire came from his mouth, burning coals blazed out of it.
    He parted the heavens and came down; dark clouds were under his feet.
    He mounted the cherubim and flew; he soared on the wings of the wind.
    He made darkness his covering, his canopy around him — the dark rain clouds of the sky.
    Out of the brightness of his presence clouds advanced,
    with hailstones and bolts of lightning.
    The LORD thundered from heaven; the voice of the Most High resounded.
    He shot his arrows and scattered [the enemies], great bolts of lightning and routed them.
    The valleys of the sea were exposed and the foundations of the earth laid bare at your rebuke, O LORD, at the blast of breath from your nostrils.

    He reached down from on high and took hold of me; he drew me out of deep waters.
    He rescued me from my powerful enemy, from my foes, who were too strong for me.
    They confronted me in the day of my disaster, but the LORD was my support.
    He brought me out into a spacious place; he rescued me because he delighted in me…

    To the faithful you show yourself faithful, to the blameless you show yourself blameless,
    to the pure you show yourself pure, but to the crooked you show yourself shrewd.
    You save the humble but bring low those whose eyes are haughty.
    You, O LORD, keep my lamp burning; my God turns my darkness into light.
    With your help I can advance against a troop; with my God I can scale a wall.

    As for God, his way is perfect; the word of the LORD is flawless.
    He is a shield for all who take refuge in him.
    For who is God besides the LORD? And who is the Rock except our God?
    It is God who arms me with strength and makes my way perfect.
    He makes my feet like the feet of a deer; he enables me to stand on the heights.
    He trains my hands for battle; my arms can bend a bow of bronze.
    You give me your shield of victory, and your right hand sustains me;
    you stoop down to make me great.
    You broaden the path beneath me, so that my ankles do not turn.

    I pursued my enemies and overtook them; I did not turn back till they were destroyed.
    I crushed them so that they could not rise; they fell beneath my feet.
    You armed me with strength for battle; you made my adversaries bow at my feet.
    You made my enemies turn their backs in flight, and I destroyed my foes.
    They cried for help, but there was no one to save them —
    to the LORD, but he did not answer.
    I beat them as fine as dust borne on the wind;
    I poured them out like mud in the streets…

    The LORD lives! Praise be to my Rock! Exalted be God my Saviour!
    He is the God who avenges me, who subdues nations under me,
    who saves me from my enemies.
    You exalted me above my foes; from violent men you rescued me.
    Therefore I will praise you among the nations, O LORD; I will sing praises to your name.
    He gives his king great victories;
    he shows unfailing kindness to his anointed, to David and his descendants forever.

    Ps 18

  3. Kate Ambler

    I love you Aunty Clare. Thankyou for sharing with us through your journey. You have ALWAYS been my biggest role model, I always wanted to be Aunty Clare 🙂 So thankyou. I love you.

Leave a Reply

