Daffodils

Kim and IThe daffodil sellers at St Vincent’s yesterday brought this poem to mind. I dedicate it to my sister, Kim. It is her favourite poem.

I have never wandered lonely as a cloud because she has always been beside me. Even when I didn’t want her to be! She used to wake me up in the middle of the night to sit outside the bathroom door because she “didn’t get scared when I was there.That was when we lived in a rambling rectory in Concord Road, Strathfield. There was much to be afraid of back then, with ‘drunks’ sleeping on the front verandah and drug addicts knocking on the door for money. We were the minister’s family and it was our job to give people refuge.
There was often a break-in. We were so close to the station and on the main road. I remember the police being called time and again to wipe the windows with the solution before they took finger prints. “Just people looking for things to pawn for quick cash.” It wasn’t big to them but huge for us. Such an invasion. So much of my mother’s jewelry was stolen. So Kim and I would venture to the back porch loo together, even though the howling was just the wind in the old jacaranda, most of the time.
St Vincent’s feels remarkably like Concord Road. Fear whistles loudly to get us off track. It’s just the wind. I am not alone in this battle. I am not intimidated. I am not overwhelmed. Our lives are in the hands of my maker.
How lovely for me to see the daffodils and think of Kim amidst the things that tried to ruin my day. How incredible to know that the Cancer Council are doing so many things to make a difference for people who aren’t surrounded by family.

When Sam was admitted the old man in front of us had no next of kin, no emergency contact. I just wanted to cry. Sometimes you want to scoop up the whole world in your hands and love them. No one wonder God sent Jesus. I feel God’s aching heart for lost humanity pounding in my chest. He holds us in His hands so we can take delight in His rest. Enjoy your poem precious Kim but as for me I’ll enjoy the waves at sea.

Kim and her daffodilsI wander’d lonely as a cloud

That floats on high o’er vales and hills,

When all at once I saw a crowd,

A host, of golden daffodils;

Beside the lake, beneath the trees,

Fluttering and dancing in the breeze.

Continuous as the stars that shine

And twinkle on the Milky Way,

They stretch’d in never-ending line

Along the margin of a bay:

Ten thousand saw I at a glance,

Tossing their heads in sprightly dance.

The waves beside them danced; but they

Out-did the sparkling waves in glee:

A poet could not but be gay,

In such a jocund company:

I gazed — and gazed — but little thought

What wealth the show to me had brought:

For oft, when on my couch I lie

In vacant or in pensive mood,

They flash upon that inward eye

Which is the bliss of solitude;

And then my heart with pleasure fills,

And dances with the daffodils.

By William Wordsworth (1770-1850).

8 Comments

Filed under Life

8 responses to “Daffodils

  1. Jane Grover

    Never Never Never Never will I leave you, Never will I forsake you…..Fear not for I am with you says the Lord…although my heart breaks for you all this week…I am comforted in knowing that he is with you all.
    We are your host of daffodils, friends praying, believing and standing tall with you xx

    • Clare Froggatt

      Beautiful Jane, I love that. It’s true, you are the daffodils. I’m sitting beside Sam now. She has a fever 38.7 and has been vomiting. I just saw your comment and I feel like William himself on His couch, resting in the fact that the ten thousands are sparkling under God in Heaven doing battle on our behalf. I hadn’t really considered the poem in that way. Wow. You should be teaching literature. But I know your busy cooking and tweeting. X Clare

  2. Silvia Noble

    Oh my, how very beautiful, all of it so very beautiful.

    A mere gal like me can’t add to your words (Clare I am continually amazed at how you take us there… wherever you want) and Wordsworth’s stunning prose… and “Jane twooks”… so true.
    I am so honoured to be part of the ten thousand continuous as he stars that shine.
    Loving you.
    Sil

  3. Sheralyn Bucknell

    Hi Clare – Happy Spring! I have a bunch of daffodils on the dresser – hope, new life, a new day dawning and the expecation of summer approaching! Yeah!!
    Right there with you Clare – every step of the way. Brave Sam – I would be challenged by just having to lie still and be packed in with rice let alone everything else she has endured.
    Yes indeeed – God is faithful and He will bring you ALL safely through into your desired haven.
    Be blessed. Big yellow bunches of love to you. Sheralynxx

  4. Kim Bairs ( Auntie)

    Actually you use to accompany me to the “loo”even earlier than that – at Stafford UK

    Thank you for the privilege of being your sister !

    Love ya heaps !

  5. Sandy Foster

    Hi Clare – 1st day of Spring – fresh new day. Beginning of a new season – warmth and sunshine – new fragrances and colourful joy-filled days ahead for you. xxx

    Ps. 121: I will lift my eyes to the hills, From whence comes my help? My help comes from the Lord Who made heaven and earth. He will not allow your foot to be moved (or slip), He who keeps you will not slumber nor sleep. The Lord is your keeper (Protector), The Lord is your shade at your right hand. The sun shall not strike you by day, Nor the moon by night. the Lord shall preserve you from all evil: He shall preserve your soul. The Lord shall preserve your going out and your coming in. From this time forth, and even forevermore.

    Joining arms with you and a great company of believers – Beautiful Brave Sam – Praying the presence of God and His angels standing over Sam all this week – and beyond. Lots of love and hugs xxx

  6. Meg Dietrich

    Amazing Clare….so true so true.New life it is…amen amen.Not a waking moment without you in my thoughts,my heart,my prayers…Your darlin Sam..life n health are hers.We up here are standing alongside you,no matter the distance…..lovelovelovelovelovelove on you,Sam,Reid,Emma n Jack.
    Meg xoxoxox

  7. Meredith Harvey

    Beautiful Clare,
    I stand with you on this journey, in awe of your steadfast faith and trust in our God. My prayers are with Sam and you all over this week and all the days ahead. Thank you for your continued encouragement through these blogs and letting me in to your world.
    May God’s peace and love be above you this week.
    Love Mez xx

    Psalm 46 (The Message)
    God is a safe place to hide, ready to help when we need him.
    We stand fearless at the cliff-edge of doom,
    courageous in seastorm and earthquake,
    Before the rush and roar of oceans,
    the tremors that shift mountains.

    Jacob-wrestling God fights for us,
    God-of-Angel-Armies protects us.

    River fountains splash joy, cooling God’s city,
    this sacred haunt of the Most High.
    God lives here, the streets are safe,
    God at your service from crack of dawn.
    Godless nations rant and rave, kings and kingdoms threaten,
    but Earth does anything he says.

    Jacob-wrestling God fights for us,
    God-of-Angel-Armies protects us.

    Attention, all! See the marvels of God!
    He plants flowers and trees all over the earth,
    Bans war from pole to pole,
    breaks all the weapons across his knee.
    “Step out of the traffic! Take a long,
    loving look at me, your High God,
    above politics, above everything.”

    Jacob-wrestling God fights for us,
    God-of-Angel-Armies protects us.

Leave a Reply

