Rest

I dedicate this post to you, Sam. A year today, since your diagnosis on January 28th, 2009.

I don’t understand the journey, I don’t know what lies ahead, I don’t really know how you or we, will ever recover all that’s been lost but this I know – God is writing over our lives and when He is finished, it will be magnificent. As we fix our eyes on Jesus, we see time and time again that He is the author and the perfecter of our faith.

I am so proud of your resilience through the mightiest of storms. You are an inspiration.

Thankyou for letting me walk beside you.  Mum.

John Ruskin wrote ” There is no music during a musical rest, but the rest is part of the making of the music. In the melody of our life, the music is separated here and there by rests. During those rests, we foolishly believe we have come to the end of the song. God sends us times of forced leisure by allowing sickness, disappointed plans and frustrated efforts. He brings a long sudden pause in the choral hymn of our lives and we lament that our voices must be silent. We grieve that our  part is missing in the music that continually rises to the ear of our Creator. Yet how does a musician read the rest? He counts the break with unwavering precision and plays his next note with confidence as if no pause were ever there.

God does not write the music of our lives without a plan. Our part is to learn the tune and not be discouraged during the rests. They are not to be slurred over or omitted, nor used to destroy the melody or change the key. If we will only look up, God will count the time for us. With our eyes on Him, our next note will be full and clear. If we sorrowfully say to ourselves, “There is no music in the rest,” let us not forget that the rest is part of the making of the music. The process is often slow and painful in this life, yet how patiently God waits to teach us! And how long He waits for us to learn the lesson!”

16 Comments

Filed under Life

16 responses to “Rest

  1. Skie Peterson

    Profound truth. Wisdom wraught with experience.thankyou for sharing.

    • Clare Froggatt

      Some writing is so wonderful I want to drown in it. I had to share that beautiful truth. I can’t wait to write like that.

  2. Lovely Clare,
    Makes me think of Joel 2. Especially from verse 25 onwards. (I can barely read that part of Joel in my bible because I’ve cried on it so often that half the words have smudged! Thank heavens for biblegateway.com haha).

    Lots of love & prayers your way.
    Love Katie

    • Clare Froggatt

      Be careful what the tears can do to your computer. Mine shut down last Sunday when I wrote my post and I can only put it down to ‘water in the keys.’ I do believe God turns our tears into rivers of refreshing. I say taht time and time again in my journal. Maybe I will write a blog on that? Thanks Katie…keep on holding His word close. X

  3. Bronte Waller

    Beautiful Clare…
    What a year.
    What a Mum.
    What a Daughter.
    What a family.
    WHAT A MIGHTY GOD!
    XXXX

  4. reference “God is writing over our lives” I came across message bible Ps. 18: 23,24.
    “I feel put back together and I’m watching my step. God rewrote the text of my life when I opened the book of my heart to His eyes.”
    Music is rich in imagery. We look forward to Sam”s cadenza “Florish of voice or instrument at close of movement “(Oxford dictionary) and to the Hallelujah chorus Lots of LOVE DAD XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

    • Clare Froggatt

      That is very beautiful Dad. He is rewriting the text, sometimes I just need to remember to be silent so I can hear His voice over mine. My friend Lucy who plays the cello always speaks of the flourish. I never knew completely what that meant but I do love the sound of it. It sounds excessive. Oh how I want my praise to be excessive and at full volume in His ears. Much Love Clare x PS I am so glad he keeps putting me back together.

  5. Jane Grover

    Honoured to travel some of the journey of your rest this past year Clare….inspired by your courage as a family….deeply thankful to the Conductor (Our Mighty God!) xx

  6. Louisa Norsa

    Dearest Clare, Still believing with you for restoration and complete healing. Thank you for your raw honesty, I love how real you are but how your amazing faith and love for Jesus always comes through in all you write and say. Lots of love always. Louisa xxx

    • Clare Froggatt

      Thankyou Louisa. I draw so much strength from your prayers and the people you have gathered to pray on our behalf. Lots of love always as well. Clare

  7. Michele Cooke

    Clare,
    As you walk this walk you communicate so well with such honesty to us all. Giving us an insight into your life and yet your rawness shows us your strength. Praise God for what He has put in you to endure this and keep looking to Him each and every day for guidance.y. Thank you Clare and my prayers are wilth you and Sam.

    • Clare Froggatt

      I pray that through my transparency people will see Jesus. I am weak but He is strong. I am pleased to reflect His strength sometimes. Thanks for coming with us on the journey and for your prayers for our family. Clare

  8. Nel Dekker

    Dear Clare,
    It is during the rests that we become more beautiful, more like Him.
    Our lamentation is the highest form of praise we can ever bring Him.
    Written from experience…
    Much love,
    Nel xox

    • Clare Froggatt

      Thanks Nel, our lamentation is evidence of our need for Him. How wonderful to know He is there conducting the rests of our life. I found this great piece of writing only days after Sam was diagnosed last year. I returned to it again and again and drew much strength from those words. It is my prayer that one day my writing might bring strength to others. Thanks for continued prayer, love and support. Clare

  9. Pingback: Sight and Sound | Girl on a swing

Leave a Reply

