Selah Sunday

Sometimes we think so much. At least, I do! I don’t know about you?

I wonder and I think. I try to make sense of life. I love the profound meditations of Psalms where David writes ‘Selah.’ We translate it to mean – ‘stop and listen’ or ‘pause and calmly think on this.’

Or maybe it signifies a break in the song, like a silence where nothing plays at all, except the beating of our heart inside our chest that has been caught by the melody.

Maybe Selah is a prayer ending in Amen – a cry that says ‘Let it be done.’ Or the phrase in the Anglican prayer book that I grew up holding, in the pews of my dad’s church, “Lord, hear our prayer.”

Selah may mean ‘to hang,’ like things are being measured on a balance scale. It’s hard to explain and comprehend that silent thought that reverberates through our soul.

What if Satan asked God for permission to try you? To strip everything away, the way he did to Job? And what if God gave him permission knowing that in the end you would stand? What if he challenged every dream of your heart? What if he destroyed everything you held dear? Would you still declare that he was God? Could you still be still?

What if in the end when you think you had lost it all, you discovered that you gained far more? What if you were stripped of your own methods to fix things, reliant on others to come to your aid, unsure if life would exist tomorrow you learned the wonder of today? What if you, through all that was eroded away, discovered something new? What if you discovered an ability to look death in the face and be unintimidated by anything at all?

What if you were able to rely completely on God in heaven, discover His strength in today. What if your own intellect no longer limited you, nor your personality, nor your wealth? What if you could do anything at all? What if somehow being stripped of your ‘everything,’ there was an exchange? What if a new presence and power was made manifest in your life? Would it be worth it? Would you still pray God use my life?

If we let go and let God, putting all our trust in Him, would He really be able to do what His word promises? And if so, could you think outside the small box of your life and live by His unlimited power? What would that look like?

These are my thoughts this Selah Sunday.

9 Comments

Filed under Life

9 responses to “Selah Sunday

  1. Deb

    So encouraged by your words. Your words move me every time. Thanks for always taking the time, sharing the journey, the inner-most thoughts of your life. Such courage, honesty, boldness, humility (the list goes on… and on!) We love the Froggatts!

  2. Elizabeth Mel's mum

    Well this is really hard to do today but I know its right. Peter has been admitted to hospital today for how long I don’t know…I am fighting to stay ontop of all this. Clinical Depression is an awful thing to watch in someone whom you love… But I shall remember that this is all but a season.. Elizabeth

  3. Beautiful words Clare xx
    What would that look like…living out of the box…with all power and no limits! it is exciting and scary at the same time!
    Add to that, the thought that Our God can then do even more, over and above, all that we could ever ask, imagine or think!

  4. “What if Satan asked God for permission to try you? To strip everything away, the way he did to Job? And what if God gave him permission knowing that in the end you would stand? What if he challenged every dream of your heart? What if he destroyed everything you held dear? Would you still declare that he was God? Could you still be still?”

    Wow. Sobbing now. Supposed to be getting ready for dinner, but pfft. A nurse will come drag me in a second. I’m sorry…just no words from me right now. Other than wow. & so much love. For you, for God, for who we are in Him.

    “What if somehow being stripped of your ‘everything,’ there was an exchange? What if a new presence and power was made manifest in your life? Would it be worth it? Would you still pray God use my life?”

    I want to write this in permanent marker on these sickly hospital walls. A reminder. We are called. We are chosen. He is worth it. He is always worth it. He is worth everything. I need to remember this. Meditate on it. Not let all the mess & the hurt & the pain & the sadness & the tears distract; detract.

    You are inspiring. Inspired. Love you. Please can you love on my baby brother for me? Can’t wait to hug him when I’m free from here.
    xxx

    • Clare Froggatt

      Yes Katie, I can love on Billy. He visits me everyday anyway, as do many of my Kindy class from 2008. I’m thinking I could get him a lunch order and ask his teacher to let him come down to my room, sit on the ‘little tables and chairs’ that all the year 2s love to comment about. How precious are children! No wonder God said to come as a child.
      You’ll have to let me know what he’d enjoy other than a lick stick!
      Keep writing in invisible ink on those hospital walls, your life chronicles are being recorded with Heaven’s ink. You are true inspiration. I just observe and weep.

  5. Lindy

    Choked up by the emotions your words evoke. Your ability to write is a gift… indeed, YOU are a gift and an inspiration to so many. Your vulnerability, honesty and courage to reach out and share allows God to truly use your life to touch, uplift and heal those around you. x

Leave a Reply

