trees

In the hallways at St Vincents between Oncology and The Private Hospital the walls are used as a gallery. I wrote about this in my post The Dance
I really love some of the art work that is on display. This week it is an exhibition by Miguel Castro. There is a warning that there is adult content on this site but if there is i didn’t find anything offensive. Forgive me if you do!

So often the art works seem to encapture the things we are facing and to remind me of the promises I hold deep within me.

When I was a young bride (seriously I was 19) we moved to San Diego, California with the opportunity to be involved in a church plant in Delmar. To pay the bills I got a job carving ham in a small deli, I learned to speak American, to eat ambrosia salad (which is really a dessert) and I learned Psalm One. I learned the Psalm walking along the freeway while Reid was on a mission trip in the Phillipines. It has always been one of my favourite passages and last night as the tears stained my pillow I found myself reciting it.

The first few verses go like this:
Blessed is the man
who does not walk in the counsel of the wicked
or stand in the way of sinners
or sit in the seat of mockers.
But his delight is in the law of the Lord, and on his law he meditates day and night.
He is like a tree planted by streams of water, which yields its fruit in season whose leaf does not wither. 

Whatever he does prospers.

Sometimes in life, you just have to hang on to the promises…

Some of the stuff we are praying for is written about here…it’s quite journey!

3 Comments

Filed under Life

3 responses to “trees

  1. elizabeth johnson

    Yes Claire, that is one great scripture as I myself have had to hang onto this year. its been a year with way tooooo much stuff happening…. The only hope I ahve is in Jesus and He is our strenght and sheild, as He is for you too.. I’m still praying for you guys…. And remembering all the good times in Chatswood church…..

  2. Jen

    Believing with you for complete healing for Sam and restoration. Love you lots Jen x

  3. john peacock

    Hi Clare,psalm 1 was one of the first bible passages I memorised. Our form3 teacher used to take scripture off his own bat. I think he knew I was a christian . He asked me to take son of a chinese diplomat Peter Fan under my wings, which I was glad to do —– memories come flocking back !! love from Dad xxxxxxxxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

